How South Africa Clarified My Call

For the first few days of 2014 I got to lead a conference for missionary kids.  It was an amazing experience, and Megan and I are so glad that we got to be a part of it.  Growing up, I went to these things, and they truly impacted my eternity as I watched guys like Greg Beggs, Brent Hanson, and Dick Brogden show what it meant to be a man of God.  I wanted to be like them.  They were my heroes.

At South Africa 2014, I didn’t want to be someone’s hero, I just wanted to impact eternity.

I went with no confidence, at all.  A few months prior, a pastor I respected told me that while I was “good with youth,” youth was not the best group for me to work with.  I had just spent a year and a half putting it all out there as a youth pastor, and when it was time to leave I just figured he was right.  What was I thinking? I’m not a youth guy!  Now, how in the world am I supposed to go to South Africa and speak to a bunch of students.  Missionary kids at that!

But we went.  God moved in a powerful way, speaking through me into the lives of these young men and women.  Then God spoke to me, and made it clear to me that I wasn’t supposed to believe the lie that I couldn’t work with students because that’s who He called me to work with.  They are who He has crafted me for.

So God called, and I answered yes to be a missionary.

In South Africa, God clarified the call: To go be a missionary to Third Culture Kids!

Of course….I said YES!!!

Leave a Reply

