My Masters Swim Group Rocked My World Again

As I was running my long run, well long for me, this morning, it started hitting me that ten weeks from today, I’m going to be competing in the Kansas 70.3 Half Ironman (1.2 mile swim/56 mile bike/13.1 mile run).  This is a step towards the dream of doing a full Ironman race (2.4 mile swim/112 mile bike/ 26.2 mile run).

I really wanted to do Kansas in June, but as each month went by, it just wasn’t looking like it was a possibility financially for me, since the money Megan and I do have has to go to bills, food, and debt. I just couldn’t bring myself to spend the money it would cost to do this race, no matter how much I wanted to do, especially not knowing what’s going to happen after I graduate from school in May and my GI Bill stipend goes bye-bye.

Back in February I wrote about the Masters Swim group that has developed out of the triathlon club I’m a part of (here’s the link to that- https://impacteternity.wordpress.com/2014/02/04/how-my-masters-swim-group-is-teaching-me-to-be-a-better-pastor/).  Many from this group, and even more from the team are going to Kansas, not only to race, but to support those racing.  I told Brad, the club president and leader of the swim group that I wouldn’t be able to race it, but that Megan and I would still be going up to camp and cheer on the team.

Acts 4:32 says:

All the believers were united in heart and mind. And they felt that what they owned was not their own, so they shared everything they had.

This last Thursday, I found out how my teammates put this verse into practice.  After the warm-up, and before Brad laid the smack down on us with a tough 1200 meter main set, Brad told me that my friends on the team were taking care of my entry because they knew how much I wanted to race this event.

They aren’t doing this for what they can get in return, because when I’m about 10 miles into that run after everything else, I’m probably not going to be glad they did this!  They did this because they could, and because they care.

So this week, I want to challenge you. What can you share to someone else? You have no idea how big a blessing you can be until you try!

Leave a Reply

